Sunday: KSO’s Chamber Classics Series Begins With Mendelssohn, Weber, Schubert

The Knoxville Symphony Orchestra’s Chamber Classics series begins this Sunday, September 27, with works from a relatively narrow, but extremely important and enlightening period in music history. The twenty years or so from 1810 to 1830 contains work from those composers who were bridging the Classical and Romantic periods–Beethoven, Schubert, Mendelssohn, Weber, Rossini, Donizetti, et al.

Victor Chavez, clarinet

Victor Chavez, clarinet

The Sunday afternoon concert contains three works from that general period: Mendelssohn’s Hebrides Overture (popularly known as Fingal’s Cave), Carl Maria von Weber’s Concerto No. 2 for Clarinet and Orchestra, and Franz Schubert’s Symphony No. 2 in B-flat Major. Clarinetist Victor Chavez will be the soloist in the Weber.

The concert is under the baton of KSO resident conductor, James Fellenbaum.



Knoxville Symphony Chamber Orchestra’s Chamber Classics Series
Sunday, 2:30 p.m.
Bijou Theatre in Downtown Knoxville
803 S. Gay Street
Tickets start at $15. Tickets and information here.