Wed/Thurs: KSO Concertmaster Series Features Dvorák Quintet in G

Knoxville Symphony Orchestra Concertmaster Gabriel Lefkowitz

Knoxville Symphony Orchestra Concertmaster Gabriel Lefkowitz

Sadly, the last KSO Concertmaster Series concert of the season comes this week to the Knoxville Museum of Art in a program featuring the Dvorák String Quintet in G major, Op. 77 as well as a slew of short virtuosic violin pieces performed by Concertmaster Gabriel Lefkowitz. Among those are works by Kreisler, Ravel, and Fauré, as well as a string burner by Franz Ries.

The Dvorák Quintet in G adds a double bass (KSO Principal Steve Benne) for depth to the quartet of Lefkowitz and Gordon Tsai, violins; Katy Gawne, viola; and Andy Bryenton, cello. When Dvorák completed the quintet in 1875, it was a five movement work with two slow movements. However, the composer later removed the Andante religioso movement that had been adapted from the String Quartet in E minor, allowing it to become a separate piece, the Nocturne for Strings, Op. 40.

Tickets to the Concertmaster Series are $20, but a word to wise. The series has grown steadily in popularity and seating is first-come-first served. Need I say more?

KSO Concertmaster Series “Gabriel Lefkowitz and Friends”
Wednesday and Thursday, March 4 and 5, 7:00 p.m.
Knoxville Museum of Art
1050 World’s Fair Park Drive, Knoxville